TO REGISTER FOR OUR COURSES, YOU MUST AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING POLICIES
Alpha College of Real Estate has been in business in Virginia for 24 years and is approved by the Virginia Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation for the purpose of offering the Virginia Pre-licensing Real Estate Principles and Continuing and Post-licensing Education.
HOURS OF OPERATION
Alpha College of Real Estate is open Monday through Friday from 9 am to 5 pm Eastern Standard Time.
Alpha College of Real Estate is closed:
- New Years Day
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day
- Labor Day
- Veterans Day
- Thanksgiving Day
- Day After Thanksgiving
- Christmas Eve
- Christmas Day
- Day After Christmas
NOTICE TO STUDENT
All questions pertaining to registration, refunds, school policy, course content, explanation of state licensing law, final exams (if applicable), and completion certificates should be addressed to the Alpha College of Real Estate 757-427-1740. According to Virginia Real Estate Board regulations, students must be licensed to receive post-licensing or continuing education credit. All education must be pre-approved by the Real Estate Board in order for you to receive pre-, post- or continuing education credit. When choosing a course, make sure it carries the credit you require.
REGISTRATION CANCELLATION POLICY
Alpha College of Real Estate's policy is that we only cancel registrations if technical support determines that the student is experiencing irresolvable technical difficulties.
Virginia real estate regulations require that if a course has a timing mechanism, it must be used to verify your activity in the course. Courses with timing mechanisms require that you are active in the course for an amount of time equal to the hours of credit you are receiving. If a course has been approved for eight (8) hours of credit, then that course will require you to be active in that course for eight (8) hour (a classroom hour is 50 minutes). This is called "seat time."
Example: 50 minutes = 1-hour seattime
NOTICE: Some learning management systems trigger a completion notice when, in fact, you may not have met the requirements for your state.
Virginia requires you to meet seat time equal to the credit hours you will receive and pass a topic unit exam with a minimum of 75% or higher. Packaged courses which contain more than one credited course topic require a student to obtain seat time equal to the credit for that topic.
Example: a course which has three hours of Fair Housing and three hours of Agency credit requires a minimum seat time of three hours in each topic. In addition to the seat time requirement, Virginia requires the student to pass a topic/unit exam with a score of 75% or higher.
Upon completion of a course, each student will receive a Course Completions Certificate. In the event the certificate is lost, a duplicate may be obtained from the Alpha College of Real Estate office by written request. An administrative fee may be charged for the duplicate.
Alpha College of Real Estate will not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, handicap, or familial status in the establishment of fees, entrance qualifications or standards for successful completion of any course.
After you have completed all the lessons on the computer, you must allow the following times for processing to complete the course and receive your Course Completion Certificate: These times are all estimates:
- Scheduling the monitored final exam – one week
- Mailing of exam from monitor to Alpha College of Real Estate - 7 days business days (estimated)
- Grading of Exam and issuing Course Completion Certificate - 3 business days
- Receipt of the Course Completion Certificate by U.S. Mail – 10 business days (estimated)
In addition, some courses may include video or other elements which require the Adobe Flash Player to view.
VIDEO PLAYBACK QUALITY
Certain sections of this course may include video content. The quality of video playback is dependent on the speed of your Internet connection and, therefore, users with slower Internet connection speeds (lower than 768kbps download) may experience “choppy” or reduced video playback quality. If you experience poor video playback quality, please press the video pause button and allow the video to download for a period of approximately 30 seconds, and then resume the video playback. If further choppy video is encountered, press the pause button again and allow the video to download for a longer period. Please note that video download progress is denoted in the video timeline bar beneath the video playback window.
"Issuing" a Course Completion Certificate, means that we will place the Certificate in the U.S. Mail.
The minimum time you should allow between taking the exam and receiving your course completion certificate is approximately 20 business days (depending on mailing time), so PLAN YOUR SCHEDULE ACCORDINGLY!
Updated 29 May 2009
POST-LICENSING (PL) REQUIREMENTS
Within one year from the date you are licensed, whether active or inactive, licensees must complete 30 hours of post-licensing education. Contact Alpha for more specific information regarding topic requirements.
Important Notice Regarding Post-Licensing Credits for New Agents
Between July 1 and Dec. 31, 2013, there will be two types of post-licensing systems/tracks available to the new licensee to accomplish his required 30 hours of post-licensing: the Three-Track system and the Single-Track system.
Courses approved for post-licensing credits under the Three-Track system will expire on Dec. 31, 2013. If a new licensee has started or starts his post- licensing credits under the Three-Track system he must complete the 30 hours under the Three-Track system by Dec. 31, 2013 or he will lose those credits and would have to start over with the Single-Track approved course credits.
The two types of post-licensing approved tracks/credits cannot be combined.
CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) REQUIREMENTS
You are required to complete continuing education after your first license renewal. If you hold a real estate salesperson’s license and require CE to renew your license, the current requirements are as follows: eight (8) hours of required topics and eight (8) hours of real estate related electives. The eight (8) hours of required topics include one (1) hour each of Agency, Contracts and Legal Updates; two (2) hours of Fair Housing; and three (3) hours of Ethics for a total of 16 hours.
If you hold a broker’s license, you are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education courses consisting of the 16 hours listed above, plus eight (8) additional hours of pre-approved Real Estate Management and Agent Supervision courses.
Students must complete each chapter reading assignment, activity and chapter quiz. The student must be actively engaged in the course for the amount of hours (seat time) equal tothe credit of the course. Students must pass a final course and or topic exam with a minimum score of 75%. A notarized student affidavit must be completed and maintained in the student’s file as per VREB regulations. You may re-enter the course or retake the exam as often as necessary during your purchase period to achieve the required seat time or to achieve a passing grade. You must meet all of these requirements before the course is complete and credit is sent to the licensing department of the state.
We check the online accounts several times a week. Once we determine that you have completed the requirements for the course, we will prepare a certificate of completion and send notification to you, as well as send an e-mail to the Virginia Real Estate Board that you have completed the course. This can take up to three (3) business days. The date you complete the required continuing education or post-licensing course and have paid your renewal fee to the Virginia Real Estate Board is the date you have met the licensing renewal requirement. The Virginia Real Estate Board must post the credit to your record before your license will renew. This can take up to seven (7) business days.
COURSE EXPIRATION & REVIEW
All course lessons on the computer must be completed within 360 days from the date of enrollment (unless individual state law specifies otherwise). Access to the computer lessons will expire at midnight on the 360th day after enrollment.
COURSE EXTENSION POLICY
If you cannot complete your course within 360 days, you may purchase a one-time 60-day extension from Alpha College of Real Estate. The 60-day extension period begins from the date your course originally expires. You may only purchase one extension. It is your responsibility to contact the school to purchase the extension. It is recommended that you purchase the extension immediately after the course has expired in order to be able to have the full 60 days of the extension.
Updated 29 May 2009
DEARBORN / RECAMPUS COURSE
HOW TO CHECK "SEAT TIME"
Log onto your online account and go to “My Online Courses.” Next to each course is a “Detail” button. Click on “Detail” and it will give a listing of minutes spent in each unit and exam. Add up all the minutes spent in each unit and exam and this is your current seat time. The online system updates every 12 hours.
In order to take this distance education course, your computer must meet the following minimum system requirements.
- Internet connection, 56K modem or greater
- 800 x 600 screen resolution
- Sufficient memory to run system software and browser
- Microsoft Internet Explorer version 5.5 or greater, with Java and Cookies to be enabled
Contact the Technical Support Hotline at (888) 213-5124 or e-mail REtechsupport@dearborn.com. Technical support is available 24 hours per day, seven (7) days per week.
Updated 29 May 2009
CONTINUE TO REGISTER FOR THE COURSE...
By clicking the button below, you have read and agree to the requirements above. You must agree to these requirements to continue your online registration. If you have questions, contact Alpha.