HOW TO GET YOUR SALESPERSON LICENSE
To obtain your real estate salesperson license, you must fulfill the requirements below.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Must have a High School Diploma or Equivalent, effective July 1, 2006.
- If licensed in another state, be in good standing in any state where licensed.
- Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing and be competent to transact real estate business in such a manner as to safeguard the public interest.
- Not have been found guilty of violating the fair housing laws of any jurisdiction.
- Meet the current educational requirements of the Virginia Real Estate Board by achieving a passing grade in all required courses before sitting for the licensing exam.
- Pass a written license examination approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
- Not have had a real estate license revoked or suspended in any state.
- Not have been convicted anywhere for a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury or any felony.
- Finger printing for all Virginia real estate license applicants is mandatory.
Current Virginia Real Estate Board Educational Requirements
The Virginia Real Estate Board currently requires anyone wishing to obtain a real estate license to complete, with a passing grade, a State approved 60 hour course called "The Principles of Real Estate." This course is to cover the principles and practices of real estate as well as Virginia real estate law.
If you are currently licensed in another jurisdiction, visit the VREB website and see section 18 VAC 135-20-60 Qualifications for Licensure by reciprocity.
FLOOD INSTRUCTION REQUIREMENT
All active brokers and active experienced salespersons who renew their license after December 31, 2015, must complete a Board-approved LU CE course that includes Flood Instruction to renew their licenses.
For more information click here.